empty text

empty text

About Us

University Credit Union Serving the University Community for over 70 Years.

Now Serving the Miami-Dade County Community with World Class Member Service

University Credit Union was established in 1947 as the University of Miami Credit Union to serve the University of Miami faculty, staff and alumni.  The credit union built a reputation for meeting the financial needs of the University Community with critical, basic financial services. 

In 1982 the Field of Membership (FOM) was expanded to include Florida International University and the name was changed to University Credit Union.  In 1988, the FOM again expanded to include St. Thomas University.  In addition, students on all campuses became a part of the FOM. 

Fast forward to 2005 when the credit union concluded a merger with Lawyers Credit Union and  began service to the legal communities of Miami-Dade, Palm Beach and Monroe Counties.  Finally, in 2008, University Credit Union opened the FOM to include all those who live or work in Miami-Dade County, Florida.  This was a landmark move that provides for a myriad of opportunities for the Credit Union and its member/owners.

University Credit Union operates as a member owned, not-for-profit, cooperative financial institution that is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors and a volunteer Supervisory Committee.  Credit Unions are the only democratically controlled financial institution in the United States and operate with the philosophies, “Not for profit, Not for Charity, But for Service” and “People Helping People”.  University Credit Union is in business to provide the best possible financial services to its members at a low cost with favorable rates and overall financial assistance while in constant pursuit of World Class Member Service.

University Credit Union’s current assets are at $200 million with over 13,000 members and 60 team members.  The main Support Center is the West Kendall Center and Branch located at 13241 SW 136 Street, Miami, Florida 33186.University Credit Union’s retail delivery system includes four additional branch locations strategically located on or near the university campuses. 

As part of our ongoing cooperation with other Credit Unions, we are affiliated with the Credit Union Service Corporation.  This is a network of Shared Service Centers offering members access to their accounts for deposit and withdrawal worldwide.

Member centric hours are in place to better serve our members/owners.

The West Kendall Center Branch is open:

8:00am to 5:00pm Monday – Thursday

8:00am to 6:00pm on Friday

9:00am to 12:00pm on Saturday (Temporarily Closed)

The Red Road Branch is open:

9:00am to 5:00pm Monday – Friday

9:00am to 12:00pm on Saturday (Temporarily Closed)

Additional branch locations are open:

9:00am to 5:00pm, Monday – Friday

The Member Care Center is open 8:00am to 5:00pm, Monday – Friday.

Your Hometown Credit Union has a wide selection of deposit and loan products that is combined with other financial services products to round out a complete service offering.  They include:

Deposit Products

Loan Products

Copyright © 2020 University Credit Union  13241 S.W. 136 St, Miami, FL 33186